AASG standing committees maintain awareness and analysis of key topics; each year, a given committee may or may not be active, as priorities fluctuate, and as special projects arise; the Chair or Co-Chairs recruit committee members as needed


The Committee: seeks to optimize the state geological survey role in this topic; monitors policy developments; works with Congressional members and staff; supports development of AASG Congressional Testimony as required; monitors and provides input into Federal legislation and regulations; ensures that AASG is represented on related federal advisory committees; monitors and advocates for the federal role, including external grants; facilitates collaboration with federal agencies; collaborates with partners organizations such as NGOs; assists in development and implementation of AASG positions and initiatives; shares pertinent information with the AASG community; updates the AASG Position Statement; helps with AASG annual meeting program planning when asked; and reports to the annual meeting

Current Committee Members
M. Ed Ratchford, Chair
Past Committee Members
George E. W. Love, Chair ( to )
David B. Spears, Chair ( to )
Jonathan G. Price, Chair ( to )