John C. Frye Memorial Award

The Award is given each year to a nominated environmental geology publication published in the current year or one of the three preceding calendar years either by GSA or by a state geological survey. A shared $1000 prize and a certificate to each author is presented at the AASG Mid-Year meeting, held Tuesday morning at the GSA annual meeting.

Nominations Guidelines

Nominations should identify a geologically based environmental issue, provide sound and substantive information pertinent to the problem, relate geology to the issue, and present information directly usable by geologists, other professionals such as land-use planners and engineers, and ideally also by informed laypersons.

To nominate a publication, please submit a letter describing its importance, with up to three letters from users of the publication, by March 31, along with three copies of the publication, or a digital link, if available, to:

Program Officer - Grants, Awards, and Recognition, Geological Society of America, PO Box 9140, Boulder, CO, 80301-9140, (303) 357-1028,

Selection Procedure

A joint AASG-GSA committee will evaluate the nominated publications, make a selection in April, and the winner will be announced in GSA Today. Nominations are carried over for as long as the publication is eligible.


2019    Delaware Sea-Level Rise Technical Committee, Recommendations of Sea-Level Rise Planning Scenarios for Delaware, Technical Report, 117 p.
2018    Geological CO2 Sequestration Atlas of Miocene Strata, Offshore Texas State Waters
2017    The West Salt Creek Landslide: A Catastrophic Rockslide and Rock/Debris Avalanche in Mesa County, Colorado, 2015, by Jonathan L. White, Matthew L. Morgan, and Karen A. Berry, Colorado Geological Survey Bulletin 55, 57 p.
2016    Peggy S. Johnson, Dan J. Koning, Stacy S. Timmons, and Brigitte Felix, 2016, Geology and Hydrology of Groundwater-fed Springs and Wetlands at La Cienega, Santa Fe County, New Mexico: New Mexico Bureau of Geology and Mineral Resources Bulletin 161, 92p.
2015    Investigation of Land Subsidence and Earth Fissures in Cedar Valley, Iron County, Utah, Special Study 150, Utah Geological Survey, 2014, Tyler Knudsen, Paul Inkenbrandt, William Lund, Mike Lowe, and Steve Bowman, authors
2014    The Groundwater Atlas of Nebraska; Resource Atlas No. 4b/2013; Third (revised) edition; by Jesse T. Korus, Leslie M. Howard, Aaron R. Young, Dana P. Divine, Mark E. Burbach, J. Michael Jess, and Douglas R. Hallum with contributions from R.F. Diffendal, Jr
2013    Elizabeth Meredith, John Wheaton, and Shawn Kuzara, 2012, Coalbed Methane Basics: Ten years of lessons from the Powder River Basin, Montana, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology, Information Pamphlet 6
2012    John T. Neubert, Jeffrey P. Kurtz, Dana J. Bove, and Matthew A. Sares, 2011, Natural Acid Rock Drainage Associated with Hydrothermally Altered Terrane in Colorado, Colorado Geological Survey Bulletin 54
2011    J. Cook, A. Youberg, P. Pearthree, J. Onken, B. MacFarlane, D. Haddad, E. Bigio, and A. Kowler, 2009, Mapping of Holocene River Alluvium along the San Pedro River, Southeastern Arizona, Arizona Geological Survey
2010    William R. Lund, Tyler R. Knudsen, Garrett S. Vice, and Lucas M. Shaw - Geologic hazards and adverse construction conditions, St. George-Hurricane Metropolitan Area, Washington County, Utah; Utah Geological Survey Special Study 127
2009    Jonathan L. White and Celia Greenman
2008    Daniel I. Carey
2007    David K. Brezinski
2006    Ralf Topper, Karen L. Spray, William H. Bellis, Judith L. Hamilton, and Peter E. Barkmann
2005    Carol L. Ruthven, John D. Kiefer, Stephen F. Greb, and William M. Andrews, Jr.  
2004    Raymond C. Harris and Philip A. Pearthree
2003    Ron Churchill, Chris Higgins, and Bob Hill,
2002    Peggy S. Johnson,
2001    Julie A. LeFever, John P. Bluemle, Ryan P. Waldkirch
2000    Helen L. Delano and Peter J. Wilshusen
1999    Ed Lane and Frank Rupert
1998    David C. Noe, Candace L. Jochim, William P. Rogers
1997    Micheal J. Chrzastowski, Myra M. Killey, Robert A. Bauer, Paul B. DelMontelle, Anne L. Erdmann, Beverly L. Herzog, John M. Masters, and Lisa R. Smith,
1996    Steven Slaff
1995    Mike Lowe, Bill D. Black, Kimm M. Harty, Jeffrey R. Keaton, William E. Mulvey, E. Fred Pashley, Jr., and Scott R. Williams,
1994    Ronald W. Hoenstine and Ed Lane
1993    Robert F. Walters
1992    Edwin J. Hartke and Henry H. Gray
1991    Richard C. Berg, H. Allen Wehnnann, and John M. Shafer
1990    Linda L. Noson, Anthony Qamar, and Gerald W. Thorsen