Pick and Gavel Award

The Pick and Gavel Dinner is held in Washington D.C. in February or March at the Cosmos Club, whose history is steeped in geology. One of its founders and first presidents was John Wesley Powell, 1881 -1894 USGS Director and explorer of the Grand Canyon, and its membership has included many renowned geologists.

The Award consists of a mounted mineral, fossil, or rock, with a symbol that includes a geologist's pick, a policy-maker's gavel, and the Capitol, where geologists and policy-makers work together to respond to the needs of the nation.

Image removed.

Nominations Guidelines

AASG will recognize one or two distinguished friends of geology each year, customarily a Senator, Representative, Presidential Appointee, or a particularly distinguished and broadly accomplished geologist.

Suggestions for potential recipients are welcomed by the AASG Awards Chair by the end of November the preceding year, while nominees subsequently considered by Executive will be those named by or suggestions endorsed by their home State Geologist.

Selection Procedure

Late in the calendar year, the recipient or recipients will be named by the AASG President, in consultation with AASG Executive, following a selection supported by Executive, the Awards Chair, and/or a review panel as required.


2020    Senator Joe Manchin, West Virginia
2019    Representative Anthony Brown, Maryland
2018    Senator Maria Cantwell, Washington
2017    Congressman Doug Lamborn, Colorado
2016    Anne J. Castle
2015    Dr. Pat Leahy, AGI
2014    Congressman Ken Calvert, California
2013    Congresswoman Betty McCollum, Minnesota
2012    Senator Dianne Feinstein
2012    Congressman Jim Moran
2011    Congressman Hal Rogers, Kentucky
2010    Representative Rush Holt, New Jersey
2010    Senator Lisa Murkowski, Alaska
2009    No award presented
2008    Harrison H. Schmitt
2007    Dr. Frank Press
2007    Congressman Norm Dicks
2006    Congressman Ron Kind
2005    Marcus Milling
2004    Senator Harry Reid
2004    Senator Pete Domenici
2003    Senator Ted Stevens
2003    Jeff Bingaman
2002    Gale A. Norton Secretary of the Interior
2001    Representative Ralph Regula
2001    Senator Joseph I. Lieberman
2000    Representative Jim Gibbons
2000    Dr. Rita Colwell
1999    Senator Larry E. Craig
1999    General Richard L. Lawson
1999    Representative Nick J. Rahall II
1999    Representative Barbara Cubin