AGI Medal in Memory of Ian Campbell for Superlative Service to the Geosciences

The Medal is presented each year to a nationally recognized, living statesman with a distinguished record of significant achievements in science, education, and administration, in support of the profession of geology and its role in society.

The award is intended to inspire us all to similarly contribute to our science, our profession, and to the public. The Medal is presented at the GSA Awards Ceremony. A GSA Foundation fund is available to support Medal costs and recipient travel if necessary.

Additional information is available from AGI

Nominations Guidelines

AGI member societies can submit Campbell Medal nominations to AGI. An AASG Campbell Medal Subcommittee considers internal nominations during the month preceding the AGI submission date, and presents a single nomination from AASG.

Nomination materials consist of a description of the basis for the candidate's nomination, a 50-word citation, and summaries of the candidate's career, contributions to geoscience, and public service, additional comments, a vitae or brief biography of the candidate, and up to three 1-page letters of support.

Selection Procedure

Each year, AGI assembles a committee to select a recommended recipient for approval by the Member Society Council at its spring meeting. Candidates are considered for a period of 3 years, and nominators can re-nominate a candidate at a later time.

  • 2021    Marcia McNutt
  • 2020    Jamie Robertson
  • 2019    Barbara H. Murphy
  • 2018    Scott W. Tinker
  • 2017    Russell G. Slayback
  • 2016    Berry H. (Nick) Tew, Jr.
  • 2015    Rodney C. Ewing
  • 2014    James F. Davis
  • 2013    Peter A. Scholle
  • 2012    Gordon E. Brown Jr.
  • 2011    Harrison H. Schmitt
  • 2010    Vicki J. Cowart
  • 2009    Jonathan G. Price
  • 2008    Larry D. Woodfork
  • 2007    Arthur A. Socolow
  • 2006    Robert D. Hatcher, Jr.
  • 2005    Samuel S. Adams
  • 2004    Ernest A. Mancini
  • 2003    Edward C. Roy, Jr. 
  • 2002    Frank H. T. Rhodes
  • 2001    Kenneth N. Weaver
  • 2000    Luna B. Leopold
  • 1999    Priscilla C. P. Grew
  • 1998    Charles G. (Chip) Groat
  • 1997    M. Gordon (Reds) Wolman
  • 1996    Robert R. Jordan
  • 1995    Gordon P. Eaton
  • 1994    Dallas L. Peck
  • 1993    Peter T. Flawn
  • 1992    Donald C. Haney
  • 1991    William L. Fisher
  • 1990    Philip E. LaMoreaux
  • 1989    Grover E. Murray
  • 1988    John D. Haun
  • 1987    Charles J. Mankin, Jr. 
  • 1986    William B. Heroy, Jr. 
  • 1985    Robert L. Heller
  • 1984    Konrad B. Krauskopf
  • 1983    Hollis D. Hedberg
  • 1981    Richard H. Jahns